top of page

A New Venture


Today, perhaps some of you have already saw on Facebook, I want to introduce you to my new project. (I'm calling it a project and not a 'business' because it's something I enjoy more than something I want to make money from, but here's hoping it goes somewhere!). BlancoCanvas. A spin on the saying 'blank canvas' in English and my husbands first surname, Blanco (which I don't get to take because it's not the done thing in Spain... ):

I've always had an eye for design. As a child, I loved tearing things apart and putting them together again. When I found programs like Photoshop and Illustrator as a teenager, I spent hours scouring the internet, self-teaching myself how to use them.

As some of you know, I spent some time in Gemat Signs, a sign company in Northern Ireland before David and I got married and my time there made me realise that designing and constructing things wasn't just something I enjoyed as a side-line but might actually be something I'd like to go into.

Our wedding which took place last Summer also was a big incentive for me to be creative and I ended up making everything I could. I designed and printed all the paper-works which included all the parts of the invitations, name place cards, table centre decor, menus, order of services, thank you cards and other wee bits and bobs. I also (with my family's help) sourced and made up some wooden signage to put up around the place and a big blackboard which went down well. I look back on that time of my life and realise that I enjoyed it so much, having a big project to work towards and complete.

I also see so many people online with their little shops and things that they do and I'm inspired by them and wanted to join in and see how I can fare. Another reason for doing this is my desire to do something that makes a small difference to the world. Or to someone's world.

"Having been always based in a Christian home and environment and as a follower of Jesus Christ, I have an intense desire to follow the Word of God in doing good to the needy. The world is in crisis in these days with the poor getting poorer and the rich, richer. Spain is in tatters after the corruption of the government and there are more and more people being turned out onto the streets. I also spent some time from college in India and there also, the plight of the people touched my heart. Because of these influences, I will endeavour to give at least 20% of any sales to whatever cause God leads me to give to."

Depending on profits and what I make, I'd love to give as much as I can and if this becomes a regular functioning business I will endeavour to give more and more.

Within the next day or two I will also have a 'shop' added on here to this website which will feature some of my creations and capabilities available for you to purchase or enquire about.

For now, thanks for reading! Talk to you soon!

bottom of page